I’ve been sitting here trying to decipher what my thoughts are on animal print, more specifically leopard print, and how to wear it and more importantly… rock it ! But I gotta admit it’s a tricky one. Leopard print is BIG news (again!!) for Autumn Winter 2010, and wandering around Grafton street today, its pretty much everywhere already– Zara, River Island, Topshop, H&M and BT2. Cheryl Tweedy was even papped in an uber cute babydoll leopard dress recently, there’s the nod folks – its so in right now!!!! The thing with leopard print is that its omni present across almost every season, never really going out of fashion as such and having a ‘come back’ almost every other year… I picked up a pair of leopard print Steve Madden mega high heels a few seasons ago, and my love for them never falters…

For AW10/11 Yves St Laurent, Michael Kors, Cavalli (no surprise there) and likes have brought it back once again. I have always been nervous of the trend, up until a few months ago I was blonde and quite blonde at that, so I always felt I could never quite pull off full on leopard for fear of looking somewhat tacky or slutty…Don’t get me wrong, I like the look and longed from a far at those that could pull it off…

So with my new lease of life as a brunette, I was dying to give it a shot…Plus I figure with camel being one of the biggest colours of next season, introducing leopard print will never be as easy…So with high hopes and visions of leopard print loveliness in my mind I excitedly set about getting myself some!!

The outcome was  not as I had hoped and as it turns out my hair colour didn’t make a difference……I bought a dress in Zara – halter neck, loose fitting, good length, and oh yes… full print! And a very Chanel esque cropped camel Topshop jacket to go over it…As us girlies do, I tried it on the instant I got home, with visions of a brand spanking new look for a night on the tiles… but oh dear god it was horrendous!!!!!!! Why are shop mirrors so deceiving? How could I have got it so wrong?!

I think it’s got a lot to do with me… I just don’t think I can rock it. But I think it’s a very risqué trend, you gotta know how to wear it and be careful not to over do it!! Leopard is by its nature sexy… it oozes sex appeal… so be super careful not to make the rest of your outfit overtly provocative… Tone it down with the jacket you wear, or maybe try style your hair more simply – I’m thinking cute/ playful rather than big and bold. Tone down the accessories, too much gold or bling and you’ll end up more Pat Butcher than the chic fashionable goddess you had envisioned!  I also think it depends a lot of the print itself, a larger spot or a more defined spot tends to look a lot more expensive, sort of signature D&G esque…Whereas a mirage of small print can have that tacky look about it… What’s more if you are going for full on leopard dress I think the cut it verrrrry important, you need something with structure, something that’s not too short and something that covers up more skin… God why didn’t I take my own advice today!!!!  I am a massive high street fan, but I think this is one trend you’ve got to be careful with…

Now although I wasn’t successful (that Zara dress is sooooooooooo going back tomorrow!!) I’ll keep on searching but perhaps not for a dress – I’m thinking I’ll invest in a leopard print chiffon blouse and perhaps camel toned harem trousers or high waisted shorts… more up my street me thinks! Plus I’m loving the pinky, pastel toned animal print that’s set to be huge over the coming months… so maybe I’ll try that too! I’ll let you know how it goes…

For now my view is less is more (and for those that know me, trust me that’s a rare statement for me to make!!!)…. A bag, shoes, a scarf, a belt, a hairband – a flash of your animal side sometimes can be enough!

