The frilly white ankle sock. Reminiscent of Holy Communion-dress fare and 1980’s Mass-going attire (particularly when worn with shiny, patent, t-bar shoes and a pleated kilt), but definitely micro trending at the moment. I am straddling the fence on this one.

My logical side is screaming ‘has the fashion world gone mad ?’ * Kiddies mini-socks as high fashion? Correct me if I’m wrong, but didn’t the frilly white ankle sock embody the full potency of naff back in the day? I thought it signified the dark side of 1980’s recession – you got a cheap pair from the market to wear for special occasions so you could try and retain some pretense of upwardly mobile. The other side of me thinks: cute, fun, pretty and silly – what’s not to love? You can channel your giggling, inner self and hold tea parties and play with your My Little Pony collection all over again. Unfortunately, I think the two opposing thought streams cancel each other out, so I don’t think I’ll be strutting around in a pair anytime soon.

* again?

Jennie

