I am not a fan of Jedward. There, I said it. No doubt to a backdrop of shocked silences, a chorus of tut tuts and a wave of nodding heads. I just don’t ‘get’ them. What is their purpose? What are they for? Every time I see a performance, I cringe at the stunning naivete, the collusion in national exploitation and the truly staggering lack of talent. They can’t sing, they can’t dance, they can barely string a sentence together when being interviewed; they don’t have any sense of irony, humour or comedic timing and by god, that hairstyle is just woejus.  And I feel a leetle awkward about the slightly homoerotic posing that always seems to sneak into any Jedward fashion shoot. This one is in the Guardian, where the two teens have been dressed up in Prada and Burberry and Martin Margiela, and have the dreamily intense posing of a couple in lust.

Although I do like the campaign, the styling and the lighting, I’m just a little perplexed as to why the undertone, between each other. The boys did a shoot for Grazia magazine last year, and although with less intonation, there is still a subtle homo-eroticism in the shoot. Regardless, I’m just not buying into the Jedward hype machine, and despite both shoots being very slick, I still just wanna know: why Jedward?

