the look i won't be channelling

My friend phoned me up today telling me he had extra tickets (through work) going a-beggin’ for next Friday’s Punchestown Races. Haven’t been in a few years, I am a Kildare woman and I made money on the Cheltenham races so those were three very good reasons to say  yes please, and thank you very much.

Now next friday is Ladies Day at Punchestown. And while I am all on for dressing up for a day out, I abhor the posing and shitehawkery that the whole event entails.

Pretty florals and dainty clutches are not my bag (baby.) And yes, the pun was intended.

I DO NOT do wedding hats. Fascinators maybe, but not those awful I’m 25-but-I’m-45 Royal Ascot yokes.

I have some nice dresses in me wardrobe but they’re juuust not right for a number of reasons. My favourite gold cocktail dress was perfect for that Italian wedding last year, but jaysus it don’t look good on washed out skin of an Irish, April evening. The other dresses I have are grand but possibly a bit casual.

I’ve not really got the sponds to buy anything new.  I’ve had a look on ASOS for the cheap thrills but nothing was floating my boat.

I’m feeling a bit anti establishment today so I’m thinking of going totally leftfield and dressing all rock bitch… or something.

Truth be told, I’m at a loss. I don’t like competition so I don’t want people to think I’m trying to take part in the Ladies Day shenanigans. I do wanna dress up and have fun with an outfit though. But if I’m honest with myself, I’m just gonna throw a mac over whatever dress I’m wearing anyway – curse you Irish weather!

So… how does one go about approaching Ladies Day if they don’t give a crap about getting their face in VIP/the Herdled/Leinster Leader?

I guess I have til next Friday to figure it out.

Aideen

