The Balmain look...

The Balmain look...

So I recently went on a shopping trip and, with a trip away planned for next week – where no doubt more shopping will occur, I aimed to keep it a cheep and cheerful occasion. And that I did, picking up a floaty checked summer dress for 18e and white 20e pump runners from TK Maxx, and a black and grey bodycon dress for a shocking mere 15e from Penney’s. And that was it. A recession busting 58e shopping trip. However on making my return home, I found myself thinking about that little white studded Moschino jacket I saw in TK Maxx. Totally on trend with the Balmain look if I added some washed out jeans and some chunky studded shoes. Could I add another 70e and still have a clear shopping conscious? Perhaps I could yes…but there was also that cute black party dress from Penney’s. 20e for a Lanvin-esque number. And then I’d need the black pumps to go with it for the day…not to mention the night version which would look fab with my black ankle boots…but with which a new over sized black blazer and some chunky Butler and Wilson black jewels would be needed…So that ups the budget to I’m guessing around 350e…hmm not quite the simple cheap and cheerful trip I had initially intended. And so I found myself in the shopping bubble…popping into the shops to buy the basic item or two…and leaving having purchased that piece which will mean starving yourself for the following week… or, if you’re lucky enough to actually restrain yourself, you’re left salivating over it for the next few weeks. Fortunately I exerted the self-restraint to stop with the purchase of the bodycon dress…but i will most likely be visiting and revisiting my pieces until…well until I give in and buy them or someone gives in first. Oh the shopping bubble…hands up if you’ve experienced it.

The wanted blazer

The wanted blazer

Butler and Wilson jewels

Butler and Wilson jewels

Some Lanvin Spring Summer '09

Some Lanvin Spring Summer '09

