So I like my trousers. No fuss, straight-up fashion honesty. No need to shave legs, no need to tan legs, no need to worry about excess pounds. However, I’ve taken to the skirt in recent months (black tights natch) because the sheer vigour of the trouser’s triumphant return is overwhelming. Peg-leg, harem, cropped, high-waisted, carrot, capri, tailored, bootleg…a veritable smorgasbord of shapes and silhouettes. But let’s be real here, the problem is not choosing the trouser per say – thankfully the range of styles are more flattering then the ubiquitous skinny. The issue is, what to wear them with. I’d wager that most of these trousers look best with a heel, and I do have a lovely pair of purple velvet corked heels with a kinky zip. Or the deceptively cheap shoe boots from Penney’s. Or the black ankle boots. But do I really want to flaunt these shoes in the light of day? On the streets of Dublin? I believe beauty is pain, but not a twenty-minute walk into the city type of pain. And although Dublin is becoming an increasingly sartorial city, the sheep mentality still exists. And we just don’t get the black sheep. So if shoes are out, how do we avoid drowning ourselves in such statement trousers? Are they to be the preserve of the night-time? And the top half needs to be skimming or slimming to balance out the drama at the bottom. So slinky for night, no problem. But body skimming and casual for the day…maybe a nice cropped jacket…and probably layered for practicality in this Irish weather. But not too layered. And if it is the harem pants, the dropped-crotch look is even trickier. I’ll probably have to put my skirt on for today and think about this tomorrow.

 

Ali Baba is so Hot Right Now

Ali Baba is so Hot Right Now

